The Greenbelt Foundation is the only organization solely dedicated to ensuring the Greenbelt remains permanent, protected and prosperous.

We make the right investments in its interconnected natural, agricultural and economic systems, to ensure a working, thriving Greenbelt for all.


Board of Directors

The Foundation’s Board of Directors ensures the Foundation’s policies, grants, management, and investment reflects the mission to promote and sustain the Greenbelt as a beneficial, valuable, and permanent feature, enhancing the quality of life for all residents of Ontario.

Dr. David McKeown, Chair, Public Health Physician, Former Minister of Health, City of Toronto
Mary Lou Tanner, Vice-Chair, Partner and Principal Planner, Niagara Planning Group
David Oved, Secretary, David Oved Environmental Communications
Joyce McLean, Treasurer, McLean and Associates
Mary McGrath, Executive Director, GreenLearning Canada Foundation
Heather Tay, Principal, Solve Consulting
Ray Duc, Forrer Farms
David Lindsay, Former President and CEO at Council of Ontario Universities
Danielle Collins, Economic Development Policy Analyst, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
Franco Naccarato, Executive Director, Ontario Independent Meat Processors
Susan McGovern, Vice President, Ontario Tech University
Robert Messervey, Partnership Development, Native Plants in Claremont 

Advisory Committee

An external Advisory Committee supports the Foundation’s grant-making activity.

Charles Stevens, Vice Chair, Member of the Management Committee, Ontario Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association
Ed Sajecki, Planning Consultant, Founding Partner at Sajecki Planning Inc.
Mark Reusser, Vice President, Ontario Federation of Agriculture
Mark Stabb, Program Manager, Nature Conservancy Canada
Robert B. Gibson, Professor Department of Environment and Resource Studies, University of Waterloo
Sarah Winterton, Director, Nature in Economy & Communities, World Wildlife Fund
Steve Holysh, CAMC Chief Hydrogeologist, Conservation Authorities Moraine Coalition


Office of the CEO

Edward McDonnell

Namgyal Dolker
Executive Assistant

Executive Committee

Kathy MacPherson
VP, Research and Policy

Shelley Petrie
Program Director

Cheryl Weldon
Director of Development

Petronilla Ndebele
Director, Strategic Communications